KE White Center

1704 Weeksville, Rd. Ste. 116

Elizabeth City, NC 27909


Tel: 252-621-3441



Do you have a specific question about starting or growing your business? Let us help you. Click here to submit your question.

© 2019 Carolina Small Business Development Fund. All rights reserved.  

Our mission is to serve you

The mission of the EWEC is to provide capital, high-quality technical assistance, and programs that reduce barriers and to serve as a catalyst to the success of women entrepreneurs in Northeastern North Carolina.

The Eastern Women's Entrepreneurship Center is a program of the Carolina Small Business Development Fund (CSBDF). CSBDF was founded in 1990 to create economic opportunity in communities across North Carolina.  As a nonprofit and certified CDFI, CSBDF is passionate about supporting small businesses in under-served areas.

The EWEC was created through a partnership between Carolina Small Business Development Fund and Elizabeth City State University to provide an ecosystem of support to female entrepreneurs that will provide sustainable growth and job creation in Northeastern North Carolina.


Who We Serve

The EWEC serves thirty counties including Granville, Vance, Warren, Franklin, Wilson, Nash, Halifax, Edgecombe, Northampton, Hertford, Gates, Wayne, Lenoir, Greene, Pitt, Jones, Craven, Pamlico, Martin, Beaufort, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington, Bertie, Chowan, Perquimans, Pasquotank, Camden, Currituck, and Dare.

As a part of our mission to provide access to capital to under-served communities, we put extra effort in working with our Tier 1 counties, which are the top 40 most distressed counties in these categories:

  • Average unemployment rate

  • Median household income

  • Percentage growth in population

  • Adjusted property tax base per capita


Twenty-one of the thirty counties we serve are Tier 1 counties and they include:  Bertie, Beaufort, Chowan, Edgecombe, Gates, Greene, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell, Vance, Washington, Warren & Wilson.

Click here for more information on County Distress Rankings.